unwilling dinner guest

If I haven’t established it at this point, let me. I’m no social person. I’m never at ease with getting to know people even if it’s about work.  Given those, I realized how desperate my colleague was in finding people to join him and the guest for dinner. It has been him and the guest all the time – two days, I guess. Perhaps, he’d ran out of stories and is in desperate need of help. Notice I’ve used the word desperate twice already.

Blame it on kindness, or perhaps the free dinner? or simply pity for the colleague? I was in. We got another colleague to join us and we made our way to dinner.

I wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. There were a lot of things to talk about – mostly thesis writing. So we asked for advise in writing our own manuscripts, we asked about how the guest found the Philippines so far, and then the conversation continued.

I honestly don’t know how we got through dinner and maintained the conversation. I had a good time – to my surprise. Perhaps I’m not as socially incapacitated as I thought – okay, that’s something that may be debunked by a future entry.

Leave a Reply

