Day 7/10 November 2011 Break

I’ve started reading a new book. I’ve been collecting the 99-peso classics from the National Bookstore. Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen is an excuse not to deal with the things I should be doing.

The versions I’ve read as a child seemed to have been cleaned and modified especially those adopted by Disney. I’m not sure if it’s the translation or I just didn’t notice it as a child but there are some violent parts. Most of the stories involve deceit, cunning, and violence and most of the endings are far from happy. At least my idea of happy.

I understand why the stories were modified for a younger audience. I do believe these stories weren’t written for children.

I have greater appreciation for these versions of the stories. They make more sense.

 

 

Leave a Reply

