these sessions

Everything’s too bright and loud. The world tips as one attempts to get up. the head weighs like a ton. Home? Check. Cellphone? Check. A sigh of relief. Slowly, the events earlier that morning are recalled.

It’s been quite a while since my last hangover. I’m reminded why it isn’t something one looks forward to. I tried being part of two sessions last night and I found – it wasn’t such a good idea.

It was lunch time when I gained consciousness. Woke up just in time to join the family for lunch, which I found I couldn’t take in. I’ve never had greater appreciation for the cold arroz caldo breakfast leftover. Recovery took most of the day. I’ve been gulping water the entire day, my one-liter always within reach. By dinner time, I was back to normal. The appetite’s always the indicator,

I don’t think I’ll be taking part in any alcohol sessions soon.

Leave a Reply

