in review: 2011 challenges

In January 2011, I set five challenges for the year. These included:

  1. cut down on food expenses/lessen fast food intake,
  2. daily scribbles/daily blog,
  3. weekly doodles,
  4. twice-a-week jog, and
  5. monthly reads.

I don’t believe I managed to completely meet even one of the challenges. Then again, perhaps that wasn’t the plan.

The fast food intake was reduced. It was, however, replaced with fondness for more pricey, better quality dishes from restaurants. But way better quality and serviceūüėÄ

Among the five, the daily scribbles was what I managed to maintain. Converting the notes into blog entries was more challenging. Somehow, I managed to complete the posts for 2011. The quality, well, that’s another matter. Don’t expect depth and substance from the 2011 posts.

Weekly doodles. I lasted until May – I think. The mindless sketching continued. I just was too lazy to have them scanned for upload. But doodled, I did. I still do. It clears the minds. It’s something I need to do.

I wasn’t to jog regularly. Paired with the increased preference for dining out, it’s not a good things (or sight). Relatively, I did manage to run greater distance in 2011. Plus, the running shoes I bought in December 2010 was more worn compared with the other pair bought in December of 2009. That’s a good indicatorūüėÄ

On the average, I did get to finish 12 books for 2011 – although not every month. There are weeks when I get to finish one or two. Then months can pass with a couple of chapters. That’s when the books are dragging. I can’t leave them unfinished. But I do get to start on a new book as I finish reading the previous one.

  1. Heather Seller’s Page after Page
  2. Memories of my melancholy whores by Gabriel García Márquez
  3. 4 Blondes by Candace Bushnell
  4. Sex and the City by Candace Bushnell
  5. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  6. Spring Collection by Judith Krantz
  7. Arabian Nights translated by Sir Richard F. Burton and adapted by Jack Zipes
  8. The Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  9. Grimms’ Fairy Tales by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm
  10. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  11. The Man Who Wrote the  Book by Erik Tarloff
  12. A Perfect Mess by Eric Abrahamson and David H. Freedman
  13. American Nerd by Benjamin Nuget
  14. Ubiquity by Mark Buchanan
  15. Sabbath’s Theater¬†by Philip Roth
  16. Aleph by Paulo Coelho
  17. Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen
  18. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  19. Hungry Woman in Paris by Josefina Lopez
  20. The Accident Man by Tom Cain
  21. Hannibal by Thomas Harris

All the challenges were not met. The challenges were not complete failures, though. Relatively, 2011 was better. I did better. Still, the challenges were left unmet. Had I fulfilled the five challenges, that would have been ideal. Life never is. What matters is how harder you’d strive to do better. (This is supposed to be motivating.)

Leave a Reply

