what is

I’m getting older. Aging. It’s not something negative or positive. It just is happening.

Noise

A colleague one wore a shirt with the text “If it’s getting louder, you’re getting older“. I was on the defensive aka denial mode at the time.

Now things have changed. Guilty. I thought one’s sense of hearing diminished as one ages? It’s the tolerance to noise. How much of the usually perceived sounds are considered as noise. There’s the surround sound system of the neighbors and the dogs whining and toying with cans and foil packaging and the babies crying, evening get-togethers that span ’til daybreak, even the buzzing of nocturnal insects, and the flatline sound that goes on and on. Good luck getting any sleep at all.

Sick at work

Colds are becoming a bother at work. Colds didn’t have much effect on my work before. There was a time when I took pride that productivity levels were unaffected by the flu or cold. Now it’s a struggle.

Things are in slow motion. It’s never as fast as they should be. Taking a break from work and getting a day’s rest results in a more productive week compared with attempts to get work done while one’s sick.

A bother

One becomes very selective on the things that one would let bother him/her. One becomes more realistic – and sarcastic. Earlier today, only two out of six groups submitted their group outputs. The younger me, idealistic and all, would engage in a sermon about the importance of deadlines. I’d rant and I leave work frustrated and disappointed. Well now, all that’s basically a waste of time and emotion. That can be very draining. Not something I’d want right now.

There’s that one moment when you ask yourself Am I really going to let this one get to me? 

So during that noon class, stomach empty and dealing with this cold, I took a moment and a deep breath and decided that it would a no. I got two submissions for a deadline that has already been extended for a week. I got two submissions. Two out of six.  It’s not a good figure. If it were a test score, it’d be a failing grade.

Still, at least I have something I could work on initially. The rest of the outputs would arrive. There’s no use for a sermon. I just asked what the problems encountered were and how the groups planned to deal with it and when the groups will be able to submit. Left the room still in an okay mood with promises of submissions until Monday next week.

The situation was very far from ideal. It’s far from what has been agreed upon. It’s failure to follow instructions. It is what it is. Real. What is. It could have been better. Way better.

Perhaps as one ages, time and emotion become more valuable that one would be very selective about the things that one would be willing to use these two things on.

Leave a Reply

