to flee from the scene

What I heard caught me off guard – and melted the heart.

The words wasn’t the usual chatter you’d expect in the pink-tiled comfort room. All I could do was stare at the reflection of the cubicle door and hold back the tears. I managed a meaningless sentence to brush the compliment off. But I am really thankful for those words.

I needed to rush out of the room before you could see how the face had burned red, competing with the pinkness of the room, in holding back the hug and tear of gratitude I may have given you. I appreciate the words and I’m really grateful. I just can’t stand – and more so initiate – scenes.

1 thought on “to flee from the scene”

Leave a Reply

