acceptance

The guy at the back of the counter laughed in disbelief when he saw my purchases – asado siopao and an orange Slurpee. It was the Slurpee part that amused him. It took me a while to process what was strange about buying the Slurpee. I smiled and exited the convenient store.

Darn. It. is. COLD! The brain screamed. Forced to maintain the smile under gritted teeth. It was before 7am in the morning and it was quite cold especially when the you meet the morning gusts (breeze seemed a tad too gentle). This is one of those moments I’m thankful for all the layers of stored fat I have in me. I decided to walk as I ate such a healthy breakfast. In less than 10 minutes, I was at the office all comfortably warm.

I love this weather. No sarcasm there. I’d take the cold any day more than the heat. This, of course, is from someone who lives in the tropics. Why, it was colder outside than in the convenient store this morning.

Plus, I needed the cool weather to help deal with my temper and frustration. In hindsight, I think I passed a major test on patience and temper control.  I just needed two rounds of brisk walking at the office building. Reminded me of that one December afternoon where I took a round of walk at the Freedom Park to deal with a major episode – at 2pm. It was awfully hot then. I gather that I’d be taking a lot of those walks  in the next weeks – and months. Perhaps, I should think of keeping a change of shirts at the office for emergency purposes.

It is what it is. They are how they are. [And then take a deep breath.] And there’s nothing you can do about it. Repeat until calm. Pretend to believe these until you get used to the pretense. So used to it that you’re unaware you’re pretending. I guess they call that acceptance.

Leave a Reply

