Destination: Day 6 of 6. Yogyakarta

998161_10201469878289894_1777165606_n

This is us (L-R: Dana, me, and Aiza; Aldo taking the photo) in the check in line at Yogyakarta Airport. We looked happy that late in the afternoon despite not having lunch because we were still high on adrenaline from the morning’s purchases😀 (To think that I was sick just last night.)

Got the bags😀

Still trying to convince myself that it was good buy. It was one long transaction but I did manage to get a wallet, a satchel bag (that my laptop could fit into, thank goodness!), and a luggage bag for less than 15oUSD (1,350,000 rupiah or roughly 6,000 Php for all three pieces). It’s way more expensive than my usual purchase but the amount I paid for the three items would only  buy one leather bag of the same quality in the Philippines – or so I keep telling myself.

946578_10201469878129890_416252609_nOur transaction started about five days ago at one of the stall along Malioboro. I asked how much the biggest bag cost. They said 900,000 rupiah. Too expensive. But it was genuine cow hide leather. I was advised to think it over.

This morning, we started with 700,000 rupiah for the luggage/overnight bag and 600,000 rupiah for the satchel bag. Somehow, I ended up getting the overnight bag, satchel bag, and a wallet for 1,350,000. It was crazy. I couldn’t even keep tract of how much each item cost. But I did appreciate that the men minding the stalls were good-humored. They remained in smiles despite the prolonged haggling. We were barat customers. No doubt about that.

For the next months, I’d be living on pancit canton to recover from such this trip’s expenses. I think, it’d be worth it.

Our leather purchases firmly at grasp, we then proceeded to look for Mirota Batik, a batik shop highly recommended by one of the Indonesian participants  at the conference. She said that the shop had fair priced batik as well as other Yogyakarta souvenir items. It was a long search for the store but we did find it.

This is one trip I really enjoyed – especially after we have finished with our paper presentations.

Deeply thankful for Aldo who was kind enough to deal with the hotel reservations and  flight bookings as well as the photo documentationDana for the stories and insights – and the photos of course😀 ; and Aiza for opening such a wide range of conversation topics😀

Yogyakarta is one place I’d definitely return to.

Leave a Reply

