Destination: Singapore Day 2 of 4. Funan Digital Mall, IKEA, and Little India

P1000064
This breakfast was really the reason why I picked the hostel. It looked pretty in the website – plus they have great coffeešŸ˜€

Went back to the camera store to get another unit. They just had to tell me that they were doing me a favor by giving me a new unit in exchange for the malfunctioning one, adding that they won’t be responsible if the new unit malfunctions. Searched online for this store and I found they’re quite notorious for overpricing, among other complaints. I do feel stupid for not checking the store background first before making a purchase. One darn expensive lesson. One I doubt I’ll ever forget.

Thankfully, the new unit worked fine. If it had not, I believe I would be spending the next two days sulking in Singapore (or locating the Panasonic Service Center.)

Went to IKEA in the afternoon. Got lost because I went to Ikea, not IKEA. Stupidity at work, once morešŸ˜ Well, at least I got to try Tsujiri green tea sundae. It reminded me of the trip at Daehan Green Tea Plantation. I missed that green tea treat. Would have wanted to try their cakes and the rest of the cold drinks. Unfortunately, I just had lunch. Stuffed myself full at Funan Digital Mall Foodcourt. Hopefully, Tsujiri Tea House would open a branch in the Philippines.

I later found that going to IKEA on a Sunday isn’t such a bright idea. The store’s packed with families doing the weekend shopping. It was no surprise that the restaurant was packed. So much for trying that meatballs dish. Was too tired from the anxiety over the camera, getting to the wrong address, and the almost two hours of travel back to the hostel to stand and wait for a space.

IMG_3275
It was overpriced. I realized that when I did a net research on the unit earlier today. Stupid move to buy before research. I’m just relieved it’s working fine. No more error prompts!

It was only in the evening that I got to enjoy the camera.

I made sure that I go back to Little India in the evening. The bus passed by the area earlier today and I saw the festive decorations. I just knew they’d be lovely in the evening.

P1000021
Intersection between Lavander St. and Serangoon Rd. just a few minutes away from the hostel.
P1000040
Wandered along the festively lit streets of Little India in search for dinner.
P1000044
Ceremonies were ongoing for the Depavaali.

P1000045

P1000030

Dinner was a rice, ground pork, and a sauteed leafy dish at one of the Chinese stalls near the temple. Nearly ordered deep fried chicken heads. How was I to know chicken skulls were inside that delicious looking. Good thing the stall owner was kind enough to identify the main ingredientšŸ˜

The best find for the evening was the iced coffeeĀ in the Indian restaurant across the street. They’re very generous with ice here. Also, tried a chrysanthemum flavored softdrink. It tasted. Still, it’s something new. It was better that the pine cone flavored softdrink from South Korea. But that iced coffee, incomparable to the what popular cafes offered. Served in a large beer mug filled with ice, sipping that coffee in one of the makeshift tables was the happiest I’ve been the past two days I’ve been here.

That mug of coffee made me look forward to more good things here in Singapore.

Leave a Reply

