:|

I’m worried.

Okay, that’s nothing new really. But seriously, I fear that I’m losing respect (or fear) for deadlines. Self-control, discipline, work ethic, professionalism, time management – all these (and the dread of backlog and the rescheduling of other tasks) are affected. That would mean chaos at work and me not getting good sleep, which would then make me less productive. I did say chaos, did I not?

Not meeting deadlines is bad thing – especially if that’s something I’m trying to teach in my classes. That would mean losing credibility. I do not want that to happen.

I’ve been staring at the word files I should have been working on for hours yet I’ve done nothing substantial. I try to do small portions of work and then taking a break (that includes this entry) but I find myself having longer breaks than doing the actual work.

The only way to get this task off my backlog is to get it done. That’s been the idea since last week – and the week before. I’ve been in this situation before and I survived it. If only I could remember what I did that gave me the motivation to do all the tasks I may not have wanted to do but completed anyway because I just had to.

On the brighter side, I did manage to clean the windows as promised. Cleaned the apartment walls and even my closet (!). It was noon when I finished the apartment chores. That was when the procrastination began.

Now the day’s about to end and I’m not even halfway through the first of around ten articles I would need to submit first thing Monday morning (nine of them would need to be laid out). Worse, the deadlines have already been extended submitting late would not be an option.

 

Leave a Reply

