This is the last Saturday before work resumes 😐 Better make the most out of the two remaining days of the Christmas break. I can remember preparing a list of the things I will be working on during the long break. Not one of them was crossed out. Then again, that’s nothing new.

I’m dreading the first week of conditioning the body to get up early for five succeeding days. By “early”, I mean getting up before noon. I’d be counting the hours before  the next weekend.

It’s getting a bit warmer in Los Baños but we can still enjoy staying outdoors at noon. It was gloomy when I managed to get both the bicycle and Mako ready for our neighborhood rounds. I am hopeful that I can make the cycling become part of our morning routine. I’d prefer cycling than being walked by the dog. These past month, walking the eight-month-old Mako looks more like me being dragged by the pup. In cycling, I get to keep my dignity as Mako’s human and he gets to run. We’re still working on keeping a straight course for the bike. At this point, we’re mostly zigzagging our way in the block. It’s a good thing there’s not much traffic in the area.

We met Ginger, a two-year-old chocolate and tan dachshund, as Mako was resting between runs. I also realized that I’m more familiar with the neighborhood dogs than their humans 😐 It’s because it is in Mako’s nature to get to know every dog he sees. Come to think of it, we get to meet dogs every time we go out for that long walk. Yesterday, we met Sushi (miniature pinscher) and Bonbon at the park.

Drained. This is exactly what I'm aiming for every time I take him out for a walk or run. It's the only way I get to enjoy reading in the evening - free from licking and nipping.
Drained. This is exactly what I’m aiming for every time I take him out for a walk or run. It’s the only way I get to enjoy reading in the evening – free from licking and nipping.

We’ve also mapped where the noisy dogs are in the neighborhood. So far, we have classified the neighborhood dogs into the barkers, whiners, and the quiet ones. We avoid passing by areas with barkers and whiners. Once the barking and whining starts, expect the whole street to announce your presence. If we can’t avoid passing through the area, we make sure to be as quiet and walk as fast as we can. The quiet ones are usually the friendly dogs. There are also cases the the old barkers/whiners have gotten used to us passing by (and not causing trouble) so they let us pass in peace. Not one street in the entire neighborhood is without a dog. This I noticed after living in the area for six years.

Leave a Reply

