20150112_123424This is what’s been keeping me busy – and awake for the past four days.

The labor for first set of planners and notebooks was a much needed break from the previous semester’s brain processing. It was something I welcomed.

Now that I’m doing the cutting for possible profit, the standards are higher and I more critical (meaning, there’s a lot of wasted printed drafts). At two in the morning I find myself asking why I even bother to do all the cutting and binding when I’m not even sure if people will buy it. I slip into a troubled sleep and wake up with the muscles complaining with every movement. My right arm feels like it’s about to fall off. I look at the stack of unfinished drafts at the work station and I’m disheartened. All weekend, I’ve worked and I haven’t even started binding at this point.

This is the impatient me. I haven’t seen one complete notebook in the past week and it’s killing me. I wallow in self-doubt after not being able to complete the tasks I have set for the weekend. My first official transaction is tomorrow. I’m looking forward to it. I know I can meet the deadline. I just hope the client likes what she pays for.

The delivery of the dry seal helped lift my spirits. Maybe, just maybe, there is something to this new interest. I’ll just have to go through it and we’ll see how it goes. As for product quality, I’m clinging to what my stepfather said years back when I talked about maybe starting a small business and the worry that people may not like it. Carl said  that I should just get it out there and wait. No need to fuss over something that hasn’t happened yet.  Just focus on the task at hand.

 

Leave a Reply

