I’m thankful that I can still jog even after my open-heart surgery.

Two weeks after the surgery, I was advised to do more physical activities to condition the new mitral valve. I remembered the look of longing I gave the joggers as they passed me. I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to jog this year. Every time I try to jog, it feels like my heart would spill out of my chest. There’s a distinct red line about half a foot long marking the incision from the operation.

Almost four months after the operation, I’m able to take weekly jogs. I have to. Today, I managed 10.6km in almost two hours. This is the longest jog I’ve had since the operation. My pace is still slow but that’s all I can manage for now. I just want to focus on completing a longer run. That’s the greatest source of fulfilment for the week😀

I’m going to spend tomorrow drowsy and I’d wince every time I’d need to take the stairs but I’ll remain grateful.

Leave a Reply

