shiitake mushrooms in spicy soy sauce

Still feeling guilty for last month’s unhealthy food binge so I’m trying to stick with healthier meals this December.

IMG_0521.jpg

Still feeling guilty for last month’s unhealthy food binge so I’m trying to stick with healthier meals this December.

Preparing meals in the morning for breakfast and lunch is always a challenge. Canned shiitake mushrooms helped me deal with that today. I just need to remember to soak the mushrooms in a batter so they would not take their usual  slightly slimy selves when used fresh from the can. Topped the dish with basil and mint.

For my low-sodium diet, I’m using a mushroom-based alternative for soy sauce. It’s way more pricey than soy sauce but at least I get to eat and perceive taste. Also used linguine pasta with no sodium content (I’m hoping the nutritional facts in the packaging are accurately indicated).

This served as my breakfast, lunch, and dinner for today. And that wasn’t a bad thing😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

