14958282_10210402816362643_175591473_n

It’s day two of the the long weekend. I’m loving this break. It feels like Christmas vacation already.

Behind all these posts on how delighted I am with this four-day weekend is the guilt for not being able to go home and spend this break with the oldies. I have always managed to visit the hometown for this November break – no matter how limited the finances may be.

This year, I found that I cannot afford a trip back home during this time of the year. The savings were used earlier this to fund things that I believe the oldies urgently needed. And there’s a lot more that I need to save up for for later this year. I’ll just have to make it up to them during the Christmas/New Year break. I guess that’s a good enough reason and it’s okay. Or at least that’s what I keep trying to tell myself.

I have no problem enjoying my own company – especially if it means I get to save money. I’m thankful that I get four days of not having to communicate with anyone – well, at least not face-to-face. I tried to fill more pages in my journal after realizing I haven’t been writing regularly these past few months. Scratch that. I’m talking about the first ten months of 2016. I used to need more than one notebook to cover an entire year of thoughts, rants, plans, and feel-good notes to self. For this particular notebook, it’s the doodles that fill most of the pages – not the written part.

So I guess I’ll have that to work on during this long weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

