[rice cooker meals] steamed yellow fin tuna and buttered veggies on brown rice

IMG_0051
Steamed tuna and buttered veggies on brown rice

Successfully cooked a batch of brown rice πŸ˜€

The last time I cooked brown rice was about three years ago and it was a disaster. It was hard to determine whether the rice was under or overcooked. It was edible but I couldn’t get myself to eat it 😐 That should establish how delighted I am that tonight’s batch of rice turned out fine.

I’m trying out different one-dish meals I can prepare with the rice cooker/steamer and the oven. I need to collect easy to prepare meals that I can cook every morning.

I’ve learned from last semester that I cannot completely give up rice in my diet so I really need to figure out how to properly cook the healthier brown or red rice. It’s the only way I can continue to enjoy adobo, dinuguan, and sinigang.Β That’s why this successful test batch of brown rice is such a big deal for me.

For the steamer, it’s going to be fish or chicken chicken fillet and tofu for protein and a wide range of vegetables to complete the meal πŸ˜€ I’m still looking into steamed beef recipes – aside from beef dumplings, that is.

I’m hoping I can make this part of the daily routine. So far, I believe it’s manageable with the up to 15 minutes of prep time then I just leave it to the rice cooker for 20-30 minutes just enough time to deal with the morning chores.

 

Leave a Reply

